Coping

Like nearly sixty million other Americans, I awoke on the morning after the election to learn that the previous night, when the election results came in, was not a nightmare. I truly hoped that I would be able to tell the new little girl in our family that she was born during the year that the first woman was elected President of the United States. We all know the sad reality of the results.

Along with many supporters of Secretary Clinton, I cried tears of shock and utter sadness, which deepened upon reading a letter from your sister—the sister who is the biggest news junkie of the family. She announced that she will not be reading any news and will be ignoring social media for a few weeks. This is particularly upsetting because she has begun each day reading the news since the age of eleven.

withsubsplease.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/d07-favorite-lines-from-a-male-lead/

withsubsplease.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/d07-favorite-lines-from-a-male-lead/

That is a decision I have made as well, so I thought it was interesting that we had come to the same conclusion regarding how to cope. (This may be difficult since I do not live alone!) The exception for me is regarding sites dealing with writing and my ancestry research.

So I was surprised to see her post the following later in the day:

“It’s easy to feel helpless, but if you need a positive avenue to channel your post-election feelings, there are lots of organizations that could use your donations or time. Every little bit helps! Some of my favorites:

splcenter.org (Southern Poverty Law Center)
ppaction.org (Planned Parenthood)
aclu.org (American Civil Liberties Union)
hrc.org (Human Rights Campaign) ”

So she put her money where her mouth is and donated to one of the above organizations and is now looking for a place to volunteer her time. I am proud of how she is handling this.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

