Policies to Live By

You must know by now that I live my life by an ever-growing list of policies. I looked through my list and realized there are far too many for one posting—15 so far.

  1. No price, no buy. When I go shopping, if the price is not listed, I walk. Some people would disagree saying, “Why not just ask?” I respond, “How difficult is it to post the price and why should I have to seek out someone for the answer and then be stared down when I put the prize back because it’s too expensive?” Dad will confirm that it’s a rare occasion that I ever break this rule.
  2. No try, no buy. This refers to pants and shoes. I absolutely will not purchase these two items online, particularly the shoes. I hate shopping as it is, so I will not take the chance of “adding to my cart,” to only discover that the item just does not fit when it arrives at my doorstep. That would require further shopping that could have been prevented!
  3. Look for the elevator. I am not a fan of elevators because I have this secret worry (now it’s not so secret) that something mechanical behind the scenes will snap, and I will plummet to an untimely death. Once I step inside, I have lost control. What I can control is looking first to ensure the elevator has arrived at my floor. I have read stories about people stepping into nothing, and dying a horrible death, simply because they did not take the time to look. How long does a quick glance take?
  4. I will never wear corduroy pants again. Why, you ask? The answer is simple. They are noisy (so you cannot sneak up on someone) and they represent cold weather, which I hate. I was shocked when I discovered corduroy pants selling in the JC Penney store in San Juan. No, no, no! That was so wrong and I will never wear them again because I will never purchase them.
  5. Always do my hair and makeup every day. I learned that from Grandma, who reasoned that you just never know if the phone will ring with a request to go out with someone. Not being ready for that unexpected invitation can result in having to say no.
  6. Only one dessert per day. I admit that I have broken this rule, but not often. Some will question this policy because I do not have a weight problem. I answer by saying, “This is one reason I do not have a weight problem.” Also, I am interested in keeping my arteries soft, so I watch what I eat to stay healthy.
  7. Never leave before the end of a game or movie. Regarding the former, no matter how much my team is losing, I feel it is demoralizing for them to see their fans leave, which is why I stay. As for the movie, I really like to stay until the end of the credits. As you know, during Ferris Bueller, good stuff happened after the end. That is when I adopted that policy.

Well kids, that’s all for now. Stay tuned for more another time. What are your rules for living your lives?

Leave a Reply

