Out of the Mouth of Babes

I have been enjoying watching Bryce learn to speak, and we never know what he will say next. I have started writing down some of his words and expressions when I realized that, sadly, I don’t remember much of your earlier conversations and interesting expressions.

I looked to your baby books and Dad for help. Kelly, when you were two, you began to call me “Karen” and Daddy was “my Gene” or “my man.” You loved going to Burger King, which was the “hamburger store.” The living room was the “limling room,” and instead of saying “you’re welcome,” you would say “I- up’ a.”

Jamie, I had less written about your early words, but I do remember your favorite stuffed friend, “Pin-a-dok-eo.”

Casey, when Jamie’s stories got too winded, you blew her off by saying (at the age of just three), “You’re too complicated with all these details.”

It is upsetting that I wrote so little about your first words, so I decided to include some of Bryce’s early sayings to me which I have written in my journal..

Little children and old folks tell it like it is. There is no filter, and at those ages, there is never any evil intent behind their honesty. It’s just the truth as they see it.

Jamie called my house while I was watching him, and when I asked if he would like to speak with her, he responded with, “No, put her away.”

Children are so easily pleased, because even the simplest outings are an adventure. Dad and I took him food shopping and then to the park. On the way home, he said, “I had a nice day. It was fun. I am hot and sweaty. I need to take a shower.” He is funny and honest, so when he says, “I am so happy to see you,” I know he is not trying to be polite.

One day, he was sitting in the back seat of my car and said, “I am a little boy. In twenty minutes, I’m going to be a grown-up.” What was going on in his mind when he said that?

On a nice day, I asked if he would like to have a picnic. “That’s a great idea, Grandma,” and then speaking like Grandpa, he told me, “This is the best peanut butter and jelly sandwich I ever had.” How nice it is to be appreciated, even if it is by a three year old.

I took him to the zoo and he told me that we had to see the penguins. “You will be so impressed, Grandma!” I was impressed and not by just Bryce. He and two other children were standing outside of the penguin tank. They would run to one end, and one of the penguins followed. They would laugh and run in the opposite direction, and the penguin took off swimming right beside them. This game went on for about fifteen minutes. I never realized how smart and playful penguins are.

My favorite was later that day at the zoo when he asked to go to the bathroom. I explained that the toilet was too high so he would need to sit. He rejected that idea saying, “No Grandma. I want to pee like a man!” He solved the dilemma by tell me, “I have an idea. How about I stand on your feet?” So he did and it worked. He is smart, funny, and resourceful!

And observant. He noticed how the moon appears to follow us when we are driving in the car. “Sorry, Bampa. The moon is not toward your house. It’s towards mine.”

I am looking forward to eavesdropping on the conversations between him and his sister. I am so sorry I didn’t record more of your words. I know they would have had us roaring with laughter.

 

 

One thought on “Out of the Mouth of Babes

  1. You are so smart to be recording this. Kelly will do thank you! When we were the young parents we were so busy it didn’t occur to us. I’ve told you the Billy potty training story. It is the one clear memory I have of his early grown up chatter. It will be interesting to see if Bryce adopts the translator role for Lily. Billy certainly did for Andrew. “Andrews wants x, No mommy Andrew likes y. ” Most of the time it was projection on his part of what he wanted. I do recall that the first thing he told me that was different was that Andrew liked chocolate ice cream but he, Billy, liked vanilla so ” don’t get confused”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

