Hot Rollers- A Whole New World

The three of you are so lucky to be women of the hair-tool age. There are a plethora (there’s my word again) of tools and hair products available for you to style your hair: Dry it, straighten it, curl it (curling iron or hot rollers); color it, highlight it, de-frizz it; hydrate it, remove oils, and repair your split ends. Whew! So many decisions to make regarding your hair. I’m glad Dad is retired so I don’t have to plan my meals when it is time to replenish my care-care cabinet.

Once Grandma stopped giving me Toni Home Permanents, I became the commander of my hair care. For me, that meant hair curlers, and until I got married, I went to bed most nights wearing those nasty, uncomfortable rollers in my hair.

On the nights I washed my hair, I would sleep with my wet hair wrapped around a full head of metal curlers with little brushes inside to maintain their shape. Some were held in place with bobby pins, while later versions were soft, pink spongy curlers with a built-in clip that I could snap into place. Before climbing into bed, I would encase my curlers with a net so they would stay in place while I slept. It was quite the glamorous look as you can imagine.

In between washings, I would slather my hair with something called “Dippity-Do,” which claimed to have a “special bodifier to add thickness to your hair.” Impressive, right? As we learned on TV, “nothing holds like Dippity-Do.” You just don’t understand what you missed by never having experienced this wonder product for women.

When I was in college, I discovered a different trick to my evening ritual which made sleeping a bit more comfortable. I would bend over at the waist and brush my hair into a smooth ponytail on the top of my head, sort of in the style of Pebbles Flintstone. Using this method, I could section my hair into a half dozen parts and then add the curlers. That way, most of my head was curler free and I usually had a much better night sleep.

Some girls, who had unusually curly hair (that would be Casey), would often roll their hair around a single orange juice concentrate can. The result would be a smooth, sleek look.

Allegedly, “electric curlers” were invented sometime during the late sixties, but they did not become my best friend for ten more years. I was accustomed to the routine and I probably didn’t want to spend the money.

Once Dad was part of my life, I think he believed they were a necessity rather than a luxury. I realized they were worth the occasional burned scalp or small bald spots caused when they got tangled and I had to yank them out of my head to remove them. Thank goodness for whoever was behind the invention of my Clairol “Kindness 20” hot rollers. They changed my life!

Leave a Reply

