I’m Sorry and I Love You

As I sifted through the pile of letters written by the three of you through the years, I discovered several reoccurring themes—love and apology. It was heartwarming to see the notes you wrote to each other and to Dad and me expressing your feelings of love. We may not say it enough, but you certainly all knew how to put your feelings down on paper. Today, however, I am focusing on letters of apology from Jamie.

Some were clearly written by choice, while others were forms of punishment which I forced you to write. Some were brief, while others were quite involved. I suspect the length was related to the depth of your guilt. Most, not all, closed with love.

Jamie, at the age of eight, we received a note of apology for interrupting. Note the postscript.

Jamie Interrupting Letter-age 7

When you were ten, you wrote us a very short note, but the humor was in your very specific mention of timing.

Jamie-Sorr- age 12

Interrupting was clearly a problem because I found a lengthy letter written at a later date when I must have instructed you to invest more thought into your apology.

I am sorry for what I did. It is wrong cuz interrupting is mean cuz other people are talking and it is also wrong and *RUDE*! I will try to avoid doing this even though it’s a habit that just happens to be a not-so-good one. It is also mean to interrupt your friends but it’s like meaner to interrupt your parents cuz it is not being respectful.

You acknowledged the difficulty in making a promise you could not keep but vowed to try. We all interrupt. I know it’s rude and annoying and from the point of view of the “interruptee,” it makes them feel as if what they are saying is not important.

I will try my hardest to stop as best as I can cuz I know I’ll do it again some other time so I’m not going to make a promise I cannot keep. But I will promise to do it as unoften as possible and I will try not to do it anymore even though it will happen by mistake.

So to the three of you: I am sorry for interrupting you, not understanding you at times, and criticizing one of you for being a “pig” for the way you kept your room. I hope you have taken the lesson of being able to step up to the plate and apologize when you are wrong. It will keep your marriages, friendships, and family relationships from falling apart, but it is not always easy.

P.S. I love you.

2 thoughts on “I’m Sorry and I Love You

Leave a Reply

